Tag Archives: UK Funky

Hemlock Recordings // Chapter One

24 Nov

2012 sees Hemlock‘s 20th release after four years at the frontline of forwardlooking bass music and dark electronica.

To mark the occasion Hemlock boss Untold has curated a 65-minute mix joining the dots between the label’s past, present and future. ‘Chapter One’ weaves his favourite moments from the back catalogue with a series of exclusive material from FaltyDL, Randomer, Joe, Sei A, Guy Andrews and Untold himself. The beautifully packaged CD will be released alongside three 12″ vinyls containing exclusive music.

From modest beginnings in the heady days of dubstep’s conception, Hemlock – founded by producer Jack Dunning (AKA Untold) and designer Andy Spencer in 2008 – quickly became a force to be reckoned with in the sprawling, and often confused, world of UK bass music.

Since then, the label has steadily forged its own curious path, building an enviable back catalogue and garnering a reputation along the way for zeitgeistdefining releases.

It also has a reputation for discovering incredible new talent. It was Hemlock that introduced the world to the James Blake, whose debut release ‘Air & Lack Thereof’ saw the light in 2009, and was followed by his seminal ‘Stop What You’re Doing’ remix later that year.

As well as some phenomenal new talent, Hemlock has also been a place where established producers can find a home for their more surprising, spontaneous or downright deranged music. Key moments include Untold’s game-changing ‘Gonna Work Out Fine’ EP in 2010, Pangaea’s jungle-inspired ‘Hex’ and ‘Fatalist’, and Ramadanman (AKA Pearson Sound’s) seminal 808 anthem, ‘Glut’. With the likes of Cosmin TRG, LV, Mount Kimbie, Girl Unit and Funkineven also passing through their halls, the roster now reads like a who’s who of bass music talent.

‘Chaper One’, as you’d expect from Untold by now, is anything but your average mix. It takes as many twists and turns as Hemlock’s back catalogue and reflects the story of not just the label’s evolution, but also the evolution of the music scene it spawned from.

Starting briskly, it jumps through percussive workouts from Fantastic Mr. Fox and Mount Kimbie, soon blunted with the bassweight of the half-step anthems ‘Air & Lack Thereof’ and ‘Discipline’. The section climaxes into the psychedelic organ studies from James Blake’s ‘Stop What You’re Doing’ remix before gradually fading into an icy noise speckled mid-section.

Cosmin TRG’s brutally sparse ‘Béton Brut’ crumbles into the muzzled chimes of ‘Under’ – one of Untold’s most ambiguous cuts to date. The panic reigns through FaltyDL’s ‘Artemis’, picking up momentum into the metallic jacking 4/4 kicks of Sei A’s ‘Hyphen’. Guy Andrews cements the groove with the epic ‘Resistivity’, morphing into a broken tribal drum workout towards the end. Randomer then picks up the funk with ‘This Train’, before getting nasty with ‘We Laugh, We Scream’.

The final section explores the label’s fascination with reconfiguring the hallmarks of jungle and drum ‘n’ bass, with the rowdy MC chatter on ‘Fatalist’ sparring with the rugged bleeps and bass of ‘Studio Power On’, and the sinister Reece synths of ‘Motion the Dance’. After the last onslaught the mix fades out to the calming neon glow of Nautiluss & Lord Skywave’s ‘Ultraviolet’.
(Surus, 2012)

Release date: 19/11/2012
Catalogue number: HEK020BUNDLE

Mickey Pearce // Swamp 023

13 Nov

Fresh Micky Pearce out now on Swamp81! Get the vinyl here.

Thefft // Distronet EP

6 Nov

A little late on this one, Fulcrum Records‘ second release after the bangin’ Paleman EP. This one is by London’s Thefft – preview below and beatport here.

Slap in the Bass // Utopia

18 Aug

Joining the ever-growing list of Kicks & Snares artists come a pair of Hungarians fast becoming a force to be reckoned with. Slap In The Bass‘ global influence and popularity amongst a worldwide range of DJs comes from their all-inclusive policy of sound, and this progressive outlook is on full display for their first appearance on RKS.

‘Utopia’ contains many elements that has made this label what it is today, in particular the drum programming which is subtly arranged yet still hard hitting. Yet more and more undefined sounds creep into play, and after the bells intensify and signal the incoming mayhem, the bass takes over and completes the fervent workout. Contrasting on the flip comes ‘Searching’ which instantly gets the feet moving with a strongly kuduro influenced drum arrangement. A low bass hum is partnered with exotic maraca shakes building the atmosphere until a fierce and cutting high pitch flips the script and causes ecstatic pandemonium.

The duo’s wide interest and influence can be heard within the release and seems a perfect match for Kick’s & Snares’ all-encompassing musical aesthetic. Another one-two punch from the restless label.

(Slap in the Bass SC, 2012)

SCNTST // Sky Thangz

19 Jul

One of SCNTST‘s first tracks – free download!

_SCNTST – Sky Thangz

Modeselektion Vol. 02

1 Jul

The monkey on the cover says it all. Compared to the rather cute and peaceful cover of Modeselektion Vol. 01, this time it’s all a bit different. The music on Modeselektion Vol. 02 explores darker, more experimental grounds, certainly still with one eye focused on the trademark Modeselektor party-factor. Featuring unreleased exclusive tracks by Monolake, Prefuse 73, Mouse on Mars, Clark, Lazer Sword, Martyn, Siriusmo, Addison Groove, Egyptrixx, Anstam, Diamond Version (a new project by raster-noton’s Byetone and Alva Noto), Phon.o, Bambounou and many more, Modeselektion Vol. 02 again unites some of the best names of electronic music scene. (MS SC, 2012)

Grab it now on beatport!

Mickey Pearce // Tempted EP

8 Jun

Tune in to some freshness from Mickey Pearce out later this month on Ten Thousand Yen!